Gender-affirming genital surgery


Surgeries to remove and/or construct genitals and/or internal reproductive organs to be more aligned with a person's gender identity. Gender-affirming genital surgeries are often referred to as 'bottom surgeries.' Types of genital surgeries include:

  • Clitoroplasty (creation of a clitoris)
  • Hysterectomy (removal of the uterus; may also include removal of the cervix, ovaries, and fallopian tubes)
  • Labiaplasty (creation of inner and outer labia)
  • Metoidioplasty (creation of a masculine phallus using testosterone-enlarged clitoral tissue)
  • Oophorectomy (removal of ovaries)
  • Orchiectomy (removal of testicles)
  • Penectomy (removal of the penis)
  • Phalloplasty (creation of a phallus)
  • Scrotoplasty (creation of a scrotum and often paired with testicular implants)
  • Urethral lengthening (to allow voiding while standing)
  • Vaginectomy (removal of the vagina)
  • Vaginoplasty (creation of a neo-vagina)
  • Vulvoplasty (creation of a vulva)